Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20510

August 30, 2022

The Honorable Joseph R. Biden President of the United States The White House Washington, DC 20500

Dear Mr. President:

We write in support of Illinois Governor JB Pritzker's request for federal assistance for the State of Illinois to help St. Clair County to recover from severe flooding that occurred last month.

Governor Pritzker has indicated that this incident is of such severity and magnitude that effective response and recovery is beyond the combined capability of the state and local governments. As such, he requests Individual Assistance for St. Clair County to help the residents clean up and rebuild amid this large-scale flood damage.

On July 26, a historic storm in the area resulted in eight to 12 inches of rain in a mere 12 hours, causing the evacuation of more than 20 families, road closures, and widespread flood damage. The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) worked with the Illinois Emergency Management Agency (IEMA) and the County to assess more than 700 homes reporting damage.

It is worth noting that these were the same storms that caused damage across the river in Missouri, following which you swiftly approved Missouri Governor Mike Parson's request for a Federal Disaster Declaration. We believe Illinois residents deserve equal consideration amid the same weather events to receive federal assistance toward recovery as well.

We respectfully request that you approve Governor Pritzker's request for Individual Assistance for St. Clair County. Thank you for your timely consideration of this important request. We stand ready to assist in any way appropriate.

Sincerely,

Richard J. Durbin United States Senator

Tammy Duckworth United States Senator

Tammyllehutt

Rodney Davis
United States Representative

Mary E. Miller United States Representative

Bill Foster United States Representative

Raja Krishnamoorthi United States Representative

Sean Casten United States Representative

Marie Newman United States Representative Mike Bost United States Representative

Robin L. Kelly United States Representative

Mike Quigley United States Representative

Lauren Underwood United States Representative

Jan Schakowsky
United States Representative

Jesús G. "Chuy" García United States Representative ak

Adam Kinzinger United States Representative

Darin LaHood United States Representative

Cheri Bustos United States Representative

Chai Bustos

Darnyd. Danis

Danny K. Davis United States Representative

Bobby L. Rush United States Representative

Bradley S. Schneider United States Representative